SSAG awards the following medal in 2018

The Vega Medal to Professor Gillian Hart, University of California, Berkeley, USA. Professor Emerita Hart has established a worldwide reputation as one of human geography’s leading thinkers: an unrivalled expert on the dialectic of global and local change, on how this dialectic plays out in the rural regions of Southern Africa and Southeast Asia, and on the Gramscian political-economic theory to which she has often turned to understand these issues. Professor Emerita Hart is a world-renowned expert on questions of gender, race and power that she has explored through critical engagements with labor studies, development studies, and agrarian and regional studies.

The Johan August Wahlberg Medal in Gold to Professor Emeritus Arild Holt-Jensen, Department of Geography, University of Bergen, Norway, for his holistic view of geography as science with its applications for urban and regional planning.

SSAG awarded the following medal in 2017

The Vega Medal to Professor Tandong Yao, director of the Institute of Tibetan Plateau Research at the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS), Beijing, China, and director of the CAS Center for Excellence in Tibetan Plateau Earth Sciences. Professor Yao gets the prize for his outstanding contribution to glacier research and to the society at large.

SSAG awarded the following medal in 2016

The SSAG Medal in Gold to Didier Fassin, James D. Wolfensohn Professor of Social Science, Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, USA. Based on medical anthropology Professor Fassin has extended his research to an overall humanitarian anthropology that has come to focus on vulnerable groups and the social institutions that makes them vulnerable.

SSAG awarded the following medal in 2015

The Vega Medal.

The Vega Medal.

The Vega Medal to Lesley Head, Distinguished Professor of Geography at the Australian Centre for Cultural Environmental Research, University of Wollongong, Wollongong, Australia. Professor Head gets the prize for her contributions to the broad science of cultural geography.

SSAG awarded the following medals in 2014

The Vega Medal to Compton James Tucker, Senior Earth Scientist at NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, Greenbelt, USA and Adjunct Professor at the Department of Geographical Sciences, University of Maryland, College Park, USA. He is awarded the medal for his contributions to the geographical research discipline of remote sensing.

The Johan August Wahlberg Medal in Gold to Guðrún Gísladóttir, Professor of Geography at the School of Engineering and Natural Sciences, University of Iceland, Reykjavik, Iceland. Professor Gísladóttir gets the prize for her contributions to our understanding of land degradation and desertification.

SSAG awarded the following medals in 2013

The Sven Hedin Medal in Gold to Håkan Wahlquist for his contributions to Central and South Asian research history and anthropology and especially for his research on Sven Hedin’s discovery and research expeditions.

Anders Retzius’ Medal in Gold to Paul Stoller, professor of anthropology at West Chester University, Pennsylvania, USA.


The Society’s patron, His Majesty the King, hands out SSAGs medals at the Stockholm Palace in 2012.

SSAG awarded the following medals in 2012

Anders Retzius’ Medal in Gold to Don Mitchell, Syracuse, USA.

Johan August Wahlberg’s Medal in Gold to Dieter Soyez, Köln, Tyskland.

Johan August Wahlberg’s Medal in silver to Anders Fridfeldt, Stockholm.

SSAG awarded the following medals in 2011

The Vega Medal to Terry Callaghan who is professor of Arctic Ecology at the University of Sheffield. He has throughout his career been able to show the need for specialist knowledge of how terrestrial ecosystems respond to changes in ultraviolet radiation and climate change to be able to make predictions of change from a broad geographic perspective. He has led several international research projects, networks and environmental assessments, including Arctic Climate Research Assessment (ACIA). Since 1996, professor Callaghan has been the director of the Abisko Scientific Research Station, and thus been employed by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, until recently when the station was taken over by the Swedish Polar Research Secretariat. Terry Callaghan has over ten years led the network Scandinavian – North European Network of Terrestrial Field Bases (SCANNET), which is a network of Arctic research stations. He recently managed to get EU funding for a major project called the International Network for Terrestrial Research and Monitoring in the Arctic (INTERACT) within which research and monitoring at 34 research stations spread across several geographic regions in the Arctic will be linked together.

Johan August Wahlberg Medal in Gold to Professor Carole Crumley whose research focus is historical ecology and landscape archeology. In a unique way, She combines knowledge of quaternary geology, geography, ecology, anthropology, and archeology. With her research professor Crumley clearly shows how knowledge, within the sciences that SSAG support, can be linked together in research projects whose results are important for the development of a sustainable society. In the past two years, she has been a guest researcher at the Stockholm Resilience Centre.


Earlier medalists (pdf)